4 theatre students to compete for acting scholarships

In recognition of the high quality of their work in State University Theatre productions, four students have been selected to compete in the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship regionals. The competition is part of the Region 5 Kennedy Center-American College Theatre Festival which will be held in Lincoln, NE in January.

Student nominees from the SUT production of Zombie Prom are Kristy Kayser, Sioux Falls, and Dani Wermedal,Volga. Those nominated from Dancing at Lughnasa are Tyus Beeson, Minneapolis, and Whitney Graff, Humboldt and Sioux Falls.

The Irene Ryan Acting Scholarships provide recognition, honor, and financial assistance to outstanding student performers wishing to pursue further education. The Irene Ryan Foundation awards sixteen regional and two national scholarships annually. Sixteen of the awards consist of a $500 scholarship for each regional representative.  Regional finalist then advance to the national competition. Two scholarships of $3000 each are awarded to the winners at the national festival in Washington, D.C.

Leave a Reply